Download PDF

Campus Snapshot

Michael M. Koerner (1949) Professor of Entrepreneurship Antoinette Schoar and Professor Nelson P. RepenningMichael M. Koerner (1949) Professor of Entrepreneurship Antoinette Schoar and Professor Nelson P. Repenning

The 2011 MIT Sloan Teaching Awards included recognition for Michael M. Koerner (1949) Professor of Entrepreneurship Antoinette Schoar and Professor Nelson P. Repenning, who each received the Jamieson Prize for Excellence in Teaching, funded by Burgess Jamieson, MIT SB ’52, to honor educational innovation and excellence. Assistant Professor Adrien Verdelhan was named the MIT Sloan School Teacher of the Year for 15.401 (Finance Theory I). George Eastman Professor of Management Science Arnold Barnett received the Outstanding Teacher Award for 15.068 (Statistical Consulting).

Damon CentolaDamon Centola

Assistant Professor Damon Centola’s paper, “The Spread of Behavior in an Online Social Network Experiment,” won two awards from the American Sociological Association, including the 2011 prize for Best Article from the association’s Mathematical Sociology section and the Leo A. Goodman Award for Outstanding Contribution to Sociological Methodology, given by the Methodology section. The paper was published in Science.

Emilio CastillaEmilio Castilla

W. Maurice Young (1961) Career Development Professor of Management Emilio Castilla won the 2011 prize for Outstanding Publication in Organizational Behavior, awarded by the Organizational Behavior division of the Academy of Management for “The Paradox of Meritocracy in Organizations,” published in Administrative Science Quarterly. Castilla received the award with co-author Stephen Benard, assistant professor at Indiana University Bloomington.

Patrick J. McGovern (1959) Professor of Management Andreas Schulz received the Humboldt Research Award, granted by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. The award honors Andreas’ work in discrete optimization, cutting across disciplines that include applied mathematics, theoretical computer science, and operations research.

Senior Associate Dean Alan White received a Lifetime Achievement Award for his service to the International University Consortium for Executive Education. White was cited for hosting the organizational meeting at MIT during which the consortium was founded in 1972. The consortium now includes more than 100 universities around the world.

Roberto FernandezRoberto Fernandez

William F. Pounds Professor in Management Roberto Fernandez won the 2011 Frank E. Perkins Award for Excellence in Graduate Advising. The MIT award is given to a faculty member who, while serving as a graduate student advisor, demonstrates unusually strong compassion and dedication toward students.