Joseph Weber

George Maverick Bunker Professor of Management

Professor of Accounting

Joseph Weber

Joseph Weber is the George Maverick Bunker Professor of Management and a Professor of Accounting at the MIT Sloan School of Management.

Weber specializes in empirical work on the importance of accounting information in financial contracts. His recent work documents how an innovation in the commercial debt market—performance pricing—allows for more efficient contracting by reducing the expected renegotiation costs of the contract. Weber’s research has recently appeared in The Accounting Review, the Journal of Accounting Research, and the Journal of Accounting and Economics. When not conducting research, Weber teaches the core financial accounting class to first-year MBA students at MIT Sloan. Prior to entering academia, he worked for Price Waterhouse and AXA Financial.

Weber holds a BSB in accounting from Bucknell University and a PhD in accounting from Pennsylvania State University. 

General Expertise: Accounting, domestic; Accounting, international; Auditing/auditors; Corporate governance; Disclosure; Earnings management; Earnings manipulations; Sarbanes-Oxley compliance

 

For more background on this faculty member's research and academic initiatives, please visit the MIT Sloan faculty directory.

Contact Information

Office: E62-664

Tel: (617) 253-4310

Fax: (617) 253-0603

E-mail: jpweber@mit.edu

Download vcard »

Support Staff

Brenna Murphy

E-mail: bcmurphy@mit.edu

 

Ariel Leitao

Tel: (617) 715-4178

E-mail: aleitao@mit.edu

 

Nancy Leonelli

Tel: (617) 253-6130

E-mail: leonelli@mit.edu


Research Papers

http://mitsloan.mit.edu/faculty/publications.php?in_spseqno=41210&co_list=F

Can't find what
you're looking for?

Contact us.

Twitter

Paul Denning
Director of Media
Relations
617.253.0576
denning@mit.edu

Patricia Favreau
Associate Director of
Media Relations
617.253.3492
pfavreau@mit.edu

MIT ©2010 MIT Sloan School of Management