Nemit Shroff

Assistant Professor of Accounting

Nemit Shroff

Nemit Shroff is an Assistant Professor of Accounting at the MIT Sloan School of Management.

Shroff’s research examines whether and why financial reporting affects managerial actions, particularly their investment decisions. His recent research explores some of the reasons why financial reporting creates information to facilitate managerial decisions, in contrast to the usual focus on information for external investors’ decisions. His research also examines the factors that determine managers’ financial reporting choices and ultimately the quality of financial reports.

Before pursuing his graduate studies, he worked at Cognizant Technology Solutions.

Shroff holds an undergraduate degree from Sydenham College in Mumbai, an MBA from Amrita School of Business, as well as an MS in applied economics and a PhD in accounting from the University of Michigan.

General Expertise: Accounting-Domestic; Disclosure; Domestic; Financial Reporting; International; Investment Policy; Reporting

  

For more background on this faculty member's research and academic initiatives, please visit the MIT Sloan faculty directory.

Contact Information

Office: E62-679

Tel: (617) 324-0805

E-mail: shroff@mit.edu

http://shroff.scripts.mit.edu

Download vcard »

Support Staff

Brenna Murphy

E-mail: bcmurphy@mit.edu

 

Ariel Leitao

Tel: (617) 715-4178

E-mail: aleitao@mit.edu

 

Nancy Leonelli

Tel: (617) 253-6130

E-mail: leonelli@mit.edu

Can't find what
you're looking for?

Contact us.

Twitter

Paul Denning
Director of Media
Relations
617.253.0576
denning@mit.edu

Patricia Favreau
Associate Director of
Media Relations
617.253.3492
pfavreau@mit.edu

MIT ©2010 MIT Sloan School of Management