• Finance Group News

  • James Simons Named S. Donald Sussman Fellow | 9/20/2018
    School of Management recently announced that MIT alumnus James (“Jim”) Simons, a mathematician and founder of Renaissance Technologies, was named the recipient of the S. Donald Sussman Fellowship. The Fellowship is awarded to individuals or groups who exhibit innovation and excellence in quantitative investment strategies and models. Simons was selected for his remarkable contributions to this field, as well as his work in mathematics and his active support for fundamental scientific research.

    Andrew Lo | 2/28/2018
    Andrew Lo has been named Risk Manager of the Year for 2017 by GARP (the Global Association of Risk Professionals, comprised of 150,000 members), "for his extensive and distinguished academic work and contributions to the risk management profession." The award will be presented in New York during GARP's 19th Risk Convention.   

    Andrew Lo | 2/12/2018
    Andrew Lo's book Adaptive Markets: Financial Evolution at the Speed of Thought (Princeton University Press, 2017) has won the 2018 PROSE (Professional and Scholarly Excellence Award for Excellence in Social Sciences, from the Professional and Scholarly Publishing (PSP) Division of the Association of American Publishers (AAP). 

    Antoinette Schoar | 2/1/2018
    Antoinette Schoar has been appointed as Co-Director of the NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Corporate Finance Program.  The NBER is the nation's leading non-profit economic research organization, dedicated to conducting economic research on a wide variety of issues confronting society and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. 

    Andrew Lo awarded the 2017 Harry M. Markowitz Award | 1/29/2018
    Andrew Lo, Professor of Finance, has won the 2017 Harry M. Markowitz Award, sponsored jointly by the Journal of Investment Management (JOIM) and New Frontier Advisors, LLC. This annual award honoring the legacy of financial economist and mathematician Dr. Markowitz supports future research and innovation in practical asset management. Professor Lo's winning paper, chosen from 2017 papers published in JOIM, is entitled "Moore's Law Vs. Murphy's Law in the Financial System: Who's Winning?" 

    Brattle Group Awards David Thesmar the 2017 Brattle Group Distinguished Paper Prize | 1/19/2018
    David Thesmar, Professor of Finance, has been awarded the 2017 Brattle Group Distinguished Paper Prize. Thesmar's winning article, co-authored with Martin Schmalz (Michigan Ross) and David Sraer (UC Berkeley Hass), is entitled, “Housing Collateral and Entrepreneurship.” The article appeared in the February 2017 issue of The Journal of Finance.

    Journal of Finance Awards Haoxiang Zhu the Amundi Smith Breeden Prize (First Prize) | 1/17/2018
    Haoxiang Zhu, Associate Professor of Finance, has been awarded the annual Amundi Smith Breeden First Prize. Haoxiang's winning article, co-authored with Darrell Duffie (Stanford) and Piotr Dworczak (University of Chicago), is entitled, “Benchmarks in Search Markets.” The article appeared in the July 2017 issue of The Journal of Finance