MIT Sloan Management Institute for Work & Employment Research

Faculty

The faculty associated with the Institute for Work and Employment Research are a highly collaborative mix of thought leaders from MIT Sloan and from departments across the Institute, including economics, political science, and urban studies and planning. Each member is committed to continuing MIT’s long tradition of leadership at the forefront of work and employment.

Since Douglas McGregor’s landmark work in the 1960s, research here has dispelled outdated assumptions about work and employment theory. Faculty research not only chronicles employment practices, it also drives change toward a more effective and more humane workplace. And IWER research has never been more vital to the world as the U.S. employment system stands in need of a wholesale overhaul and globalization raises questions about the labor practices of international corporations.

Full-Time Faculty

Matthew Amengual Assistant Professor
Office: E62-338 | Phone: (617) 253-9410 | Email: amengual@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Gloria Diane Clark | gdclark@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Emilio J Castilla NTU Professor of Management
Associate Professor of Management
Office: E62-332 | Phone: (617) 253-0286 | Email: ecastilla@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Patricia Curley | pcurley@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Barbara Dyer Senior Lecturer and Visiting Scientist
President & CEO of The Hitachi Foundation
Office: E62-336 | Phone: (617) 715-7846 | Email: bdyer@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Thomas Kochan George Maverick Bunker Professor of Management
Professor of Work and Employment Research and Engineering Systems
Office: E62-334 | Phone: (617) 253-6689 | Email: tkochan@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Katherine Bertman | kbertman@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Robert McKersie Professor Emeritus of Management, Institute for Work and Employment Research
Office: E62-333 | Phone: (617) 253-2671 | Email: rmckersi@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Katherine Bertman | kbertman@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Paul Osterman Nanyang Technological University Professor
Professor of Human Resources and Management
Office: E62-336 | Phone: (617) 253-2667 | Email: osterman@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Katherine Bertman | kbertman@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Mary Rowe Adjunct Professor of Negotiation and Conflict Management
Office: E62-363 | Phone: (617) 253-5902 | Email: mrowe@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Katherine Bertman | kbertman@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Ofer Sharone Mitsubishi Career Development Professor
Assistant Professor of Work and Employment Research
Office: E62-340 | Phone: (617) 253-7483 | Email: osharone@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Katherine Bertman | kbertman@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)

Affiliated Faculty

Evan Apfelbaum W. Maurice Young (1961) Career Development Professor of Management
Assistant Professor of Organization Studies
Office: E62-319 | Phone: (617) 252-1427 | Email: epa1@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Gloria Diane Clark | gdclark@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Nicholas Ashford Professor of Technology & Policy Director, Technology & Law Program
Office: E40-239 | Phone: (617) 253-1664 | Email: nashford@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
David Autor Associate Department Head, MIT Department of Economics
Office: E52-371 | Phone: (617) 258-7698 | Email: dautor@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Lauren Fahey | lola@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Lotte Bailyn T. Wilson (1953) Professor of Management
Emerita Professor of Organization Studies
Office: E62-377 | Phone: 617-253-6674 | Email: lbailyn@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Natalia Anna Kalas | nresiak@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Erik Brynjolfsson Schussel Family Professor of Management Science, Professor of Information Technology
Director, The MIT Center for Digital Business
Office: E62-414 | Phone: (617) 253-4319 | Email: erikb@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Susan Young | susany@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Roberto Fernandez William F. Pounds Professor in Management
Professor of Organization Studies
Office: E62-387 | Phone: 617-253-7256 | Email: robertof@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Natalia Anna Kalas | nresiak@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Robert Gibbons Sloan Distinguished Professor of Management
Professor of Applied Economics
Office: E62-524 | Phone: (617) 253-0283 | Email: rgibbons@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Lucy Sonner | lsonner@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Amy Glasmeier Professor of Economic Geography and Regional Planning
Office: 9-525 | Phone: (617) 324-6565 | Email: amyglas@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Harriette Crawford | hcrawford@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Katherine Kellogg Associate Professor of Organization Studies
Mitsui Career Development Professor
Office: E62-324 | Phone: 617-253-2167 | Email: kkellogg@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Virginia Geiger | vgeiger@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Frank Levy Professor of Urban Studies and Planning, Emeritus
Office: 9-523 | Phone: 617-253-2089 |
(Bio/Publications)
Wanda Orlikowski Alfred P. Sloan Professor of Management
Professor of Information Technologies and Organization Studies
Office: E62-418 | Phone: (617) 253-0443 | Email: wanda@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Jocelyn Climent | jcliment@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Michael J. Piore David W. Skinner Professor of Political Economy, Emeritus
Office: E52-271C | Phone: 617-253-3377 | Email: mpiore@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Deborah Jamiol | dgarrity@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Ray Reagans Alfred P. Sloan Professor of Management
Professor of Organization Studies
Office: E62-382 | Phone: 617-715-4154 | Email: rreagans@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Natalia Anna Kalas | nresiak@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Ben Schneider Ford International Professor of Political Science
Director of the MIT Brazil program
Office: E53-423 | Email: brs@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Susan Silbey Leon and Anne Goldberg Professor of Humanities, Sociology and Anthropology
Professor of Behavioral and Policy Sciences
Office: E53-335D | Phone: 617-253-6952 | Email: ssilbey@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Kathleen Thelen Ford Professor of Political Science
Office: E53-435 | Phone: 617-324-3651 | Email: kthelen@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Kate Searle | ksearle@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
J. Phillip Thompson Professor of Urban Studies and Planning
Office: 9-517 | Phone: 617-452-2813 | Email: jt71@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Harriette Crawford | hcrawford@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)
Zeynep Ton Adjunct Associate Professor of Operations Management
Office: E62-590 | Phone: 617-715-4838 | Email: zton@mit.edu
Administrative Assistant: Tyler Morse | tamorse@mit.edu
(Bio/Publications)