MIT Sloan announces finalists for the 2001 eBusiness Awards

Over 600 nominations narrowed to 40 finalists

Cambridge, Mass., March 6, 2001--The MIT Sloan eBusiness Awards (eBAs), the premier awards honoring successful innovation in eBusiness, today announced the 40 finalists for the 2001 awards (a complete list of finalists follows).

The third annual eBAs drew a record number of 613 nominations, nearly doubling last year's count. From these nominees, 40 finalists were chosen by a panel of MIT Sloan students, advisors and faculty with input from a group of experts in eBusiness.

Ed Macri, co-executive producer of the awards believes the 2001 eBA finalists represent the businesses that have endured through the dot-com crash. “This has been a tough year for eBusinesses,” Ed says. “The eBA's aim is to celebrate those that have survived and succeeded.”

Jay Livens, the Awards Team Director points out the lack of dotcoms; in this year's finalists. “After the great dotcom shakeout, many of this year's finalists are household names like AOL/Time Warner and Wal-Mart.”

The winners in each category will be selected by an all-star jury, comprising industry, academic and media luminaries, including Duane Ackerman, Chairman and CEO of BellSouth, Setsuro Tamai, President and CEO of IDG Japan; Erik Brynjolfsson, Co-director of the Center for eBusiness@ MIT; and Richard M. Smith, Chairman and Editor in Chief of Newsweek (a complete list of jurors follows).

The final winners will be announced the evening of April 23, 2001 in Kresge Auditorium on the MIT campus in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

MIT Sloan eBusiness Awards 2001 Finalists:

eBusiness of the Year

AOL/Time Warner

ePerson of the Year

Steve Case
Shawn Fanning
Bill Gates
Vinod Khosla
Tom Siebel

Best Supporting Actor

Jupiter/Media Metrix
Predictive Networks
RSA Security

Global Reach

Global Crossing

Rookie of the Year

Lingo Motors

Disruptive Technology

Blue Tooth

Social Responsibility

The Hunger site
New Deal Inc.

Business Transformation

7-11 Japan
eTrade Publishing
US Postal Service

MIT Sloan eBusiness Awards 2001 Jury:


  • Ian Taylor, M.B.E., M.P., House of Commons, Non-executive Chairman, OneMonday, plc
  • Bill Hughes, Managing Director, Cambridge Incubator
  • Jamie Mitchell, CEO, eStart
  • Satya Nadella, Vice President, Microsoft bCentral Marketing & Business
  • Linda Rotenberg, Co-founder and CEO, The Endeavor Initiative, Inc.
  • Farhad Mohit, Founder, Chairman and Chief Strategic Officer,
  • Shikar Ghosh, Chairman, Verilytics
  • Setsuro Tamai, President and CEO, IDG Japan
  • Mark Walsh, Chairman, VerticalNet Inc.
  • Mark Lundstrom, CEO, Ripcord Systems
  • Robert Weiler, Chairman, CEO and President, Giga Information Group
  • David Whitten, Senior Vice President, General Manager, Research, Gartner
  • Duane Ackerman, Chairman and CEO, BellSouth
  • Robert Hedges, Managing Director, Retail Distribution Group, Fleet
  • Howard Anderson, Senior Managing Director, YankeeTek Ventures


  • David BenDaniel, Professor, Johnson School of Management - Cornell
  • Glen Urban, Co-director of the Center of eBusiness @ MIT, MIT Sloan School of Management
  • Haim Mendelson, Professor of Information Systems and Management, Stanford University
  • Thomas Malone, Patrick J. McGovern Professor - Information Systems, MIT Sloan School of Management
  • Hal Varian, Dean, University of California at Berkeley
  • Michael Cusumano, Sloan Distinguished Professor of Management, MIT Sloan School of Management
  • James Short, Visting Professor at MIT Sloan, London Business School
  • Patricia Maes, Associate Professor, MIT Sloan
  • Stephen Spinelli, Jr., Chair, Entrepreneurship Division, Babson College
  • Chris Dellarocas, Assistant Professor of Information Technology and Management, MIT Sloan
  • Nader Tavassoli, Co-Director of Electronic Commerce and Marketing Track, MIT Sloan
  • John D. C. Little, Institute Professor, MIT
  • Marc Rotenberg, Executive Director, Electronic Privacy Information Center
  • Mohanbir S. Sawhney, McCormick Tribune Professor or Electronic Commerce and Technology, Kellogg Graduate School of Management
  • Erik Brynjolfsson, Co-director of the Center of eBusiness @ MIT


  • Ned Desmond, President & Editor, eCompany Now
  • Gerard Adamis, CEO, Le Monde Informatique
  • Susan Petrie, Executive Editor, Sloan Management Review
  • Alan Webber, Founding Editor, Fast Company
  • David Berlind, Editorial Director, Business & Technology, ZDNet
  • Hugo Shong, Managing Director, China Internet Times
  • Kazmieria Szot, President and CEO, Computerworld Polska
  • Abbie Lundberg, Editor In Chief, CIO Communications Inc, CIO Magazine
  • Ives Brant, Editor In Chief,
  • Peter Martin, Editorial Director, FT Internet Activities, Financial Times
  • James Daly, Editor In Chief, Business 2.0
  • Don Kennedy, Managing Director, The Australian Industry Standard
  • John Battelle, President and CEO, Industry Standard Communications
  • Richard M. Smith, Chairman and Editor in Chief, Newsweek

[ back ]

MIT Sloan Professor Emeritus Jay Forrester invented the field of system dynamics and is still a major force in its development.

For Media Inquiries

Paul Denning
Director of Media Relations
Tel: 617-253-0576
Fax: 617-253-5875

Patricia Favreau
Associate Director of Media Relations
Tel: 617-253-3492
Fax: 617-253-5875