A time to celebrate and reflect

The 2010 MIT Sloan Awards Dinner

On Monday May 10, Dean David Schmittlein hosted the annual MIT Sloan awards dinner at the Faculty Club. For the fifty attendees—including student spouses and significant others—the evening was full of stories and laughter as students reflected on the intense, challenging, and ultimately very rewarding experiences they had—in the classroom, as leaders on campus, and as a community.

Recognizing great achievements

The evening began with a few words from Dean Schmittlein. He welcomed faculty, students, and family and expressed his deep appreciation for all the work they had done. Afterwards Bill Aulet, managing director of the MIT Entrepreneurship Center, acknowledged the inaugural Anderson Fellows, Amanda Peyton, Shobin Uralil, and Heather Ryan, for their entrepreneurial achievements. He then presented certificates to this year’s Heller Award winners, Ramy Hakim, Carlo Tursi, and David Nelson. And finally he congratulated the MIT Entrepreneurship Review team of Eduard Viladesau, Erdin Beshimov, MBA ’11, and Rob Lemos, MBA ’11, for winning this year’s MIT McGovern Award in Entrepreneurship.

Dean Schmittlein welcomed faculty, students, and family and expressed his deep appreciation for all the work they had done.

After dinner, Maura Herson, chair of the Achievement Awards Selection Committee, presented gifts to this year’s MIT Sloan Achievement Award recipients. Expressing her gratitude for the privilege of considering students for the awards, she thanked all of the honorees for their professionalism, intelligence, and strong character, pointing out that one would be hard-pressed to find a single person in the classes of 2010, 2011, and even 2012 who hasn’t in some way been positively impacted by their collective presence in the MIT Sloan community.

Herson also thanked the award recipients for the bridges they had built—to MIT, to other business schools, to the private sector, and to government organizations around the world. She encouraged them to continue fostering their connections to the MIT Sloan community wherever their future career paths may take them. “In a few short weeks you will leave MIT Sloan,” she said in closing, “in body but hopefully not in spirit. As your life moves into a new stage, I hope that you will always remember how proud we all are to have had you in our community. I hope that you take with you at least as much as you have given to us.”

The MIT Sloan Achievement Awards

This year’s Petersen Awards went to Lizzy Greene and Chris Walti for their significant contributions to the MIT Sloan community.

Ariel Santos, Heather Ryan, Tim Lawton, Nell Putnam Farr, and TJ Rivera all received a Martin Trust Fellowships for their excellence and hard work.

Ash Martin was honored with the Miriam Sherburne Award for his many contributions to student life.

Chris Mitchell, Carter Dunn, Chibuzo Obi, Christiana Obiaya, and Christina Riechers received the Henry DuPont Team Award for organizing a student trip entitled “Access to Capital: East Africa Study Tour.”

The Henry B. Ford II Team Award went to John Batalis, Deirdre Hatfield, Gregory Korbas, and Benjamin Schlesinger for their passion and dedication in organizing the Sports Analytics Conference.

And the prestigious Seley Award went to Veena Jayadeva for her outstanding leadership, professional promise, high academic achievement, and contributions to MIT Sloan, particularly in support of graduate women at MIT.

A welcome to the new alumni

Dean Schmittlein closed the event by welcoming the students into the alumni fold and encouraging them to stay engaged with the School in the years to come. He also asked the students to take a minute to acknowledge the staff who had partnered with them throughout their two years and the students, in response, ended the night by giving all of the faculty and staff present a well-deserved standing ovation.