Photos: MBA scholarships

Siebel Scholars, McKinsey Awards, and McGowan Fellows Award announced

September 18, 2015

Nine MIT Sloan MBA students who won scholarships for academic excellence and community leadership were honored at the first MBA lunch of the semester Sept. 16. Senior Associate Dean Jake Cohen and MBA Program Director Maura Herson announced the MIT Sloan Siebel Scholars, the McKinsey Awards, and the McGowan Fellows Award.

Tory Sheppard, MBA ’16, winner of the McGowan Fellows Award, was flanked by Cohen and Herson. The McGowan Fellows program was created in the memory of William G. McGowan, founder of MCI Communications, who received a similar fellowship that allowed him to complete business school. Cohen said the McGowan Fellow is selected based on demonstrated academic achievement (a 5.0 GPA), a written application, and faculty and staff input.

This year’s MIT Sloan Siebel Scholars posed with Cohen and Herson. They are, from left to right, Federico Weis, Stephanie Moore, Shawn Basak, Shahrukh Raheem, and Marvin Palavicini Arce, all members of the MBA class of 2016. Each year, the Siebel Scholars program gives awards to talented students at leading schools of business, computer science, and bioengineering. Awards are based on academic achievement (a 4.9 GPA or higher), a written application, and nominations from staff and faculty.

Michael Joyce, LGO ’13, an associate in the McKinsey & Company Boston office, called up the three winners of the McKinsey Awards, which are based on community leadership and academic accomplishments. The awards, which were established by alumni, are unique to MIT Sloan. Bharti Garg, McKinsey’s global source recruiter for MIT Sloan, looked on.

Ido Segev, MBA ’07, an associate principal at McKinsey & Company, congratulated McKinsey Award winner Andrew Kao, MBA ’17, along with fellow McKinsey Award winners Nilanjana Bhattacharyya (left) and Elizabeth Chou, both MBA ’17.

Cohen and Herson posed with all of the MBA award winners.