Michelle Hanlon

Howard W. Johnson Professor

Professor of Accounting

Michelle Hanlon

Michelle Hanlon is a Professor of Accounting at the MIT Sloan School of Management.

Hanlon specializes in empirical research at the intersection of taxation and financial accounting.  Her recent work examines the capital market and financial accounting effects of book-tax conformity.  In her latest work, she also examines the cross-sectional differences in corporate tax avoidance, the measures of tax avoidance, and the market effects of being labeled tax aggressive.

Before joining the MIT faculty, Hanlon taught accounting at the University of Michigan and the University of Washington.  Prior to entering academia, she worked for KPMG LLOP as a tax manager.  Her research has recently appeared in The Accounting Review and The Journal of Accounting and Economics.

Hanlon holds a BBA from Eastern Illinois University, an MAcc in taxation from the University of Missouri-St. Louis, and a PhD in accounting from the University of Washington.

Full curriculum vitae >>

General Expertise: Accounting Fraud; Accounting-Domestic; Accounting-International; Book-Tax conformity; Dividend policy; Domestic; Financial Reporting; Fraud; International; International Tax; Reporting; Tax Policy; Taxation

  

For more background on this faculty member's research and academic initiatives, please visit the MIT Sloan faculty directory.

Contact Information

Office: E62-668

Tel: (617) 253-9849

Fax: (617) 253-0603

E-mail: mhanlon@mit.edu

Download vcard »

Support Staff

Brenna Murphy

E-mail: bcmurphy@mit.edu

 

Ariel Leitao

Tel: (617) 715-4178

E-mail: aleitao@mit.edu

 

Nancy Leonelli

Tel: (617) 253-6130

E-mail: leonelli@mit.edu


Latest News

Can't find what
you're looking for?

Contact us.

Twitter

Paul Denning
Director of Media
Relations
617.253.0576
denning@mit.edu

Patricia Favreau
Associate Director of
Media Relations
617.253.3492
pfavreau@mit.edu

MIT ©2010 MIT Sloan School of Management