IWER Alumni

Duanyi Yang, a 2020 graduate of the IWER PhD program, is now an Assistant Professor at Cornell University’s ILR School.

PhD Program—IWER’s Flagship Program

From its earliest days to the present the top priority of IWER faculty has been to provide a world class PhD program. Indeed in its “early years”, i.e., from the 1940s through the 1960s among those receiving PhDs from IWER’s predecessor program, the MIT Industrial Relations Section, included:

  • George Shultz, Dean, University of Chicago,
    Secretary of Labor, Treasury, & State
  • Arnold Weber, University of Chicago, President, Northwestern University
  • George Strauss, University of California, Berkeley,
    Director, Institute of Industrial Relations
  • David Lipsky, Dean, Cornell School of Industrial & Labor Relations
  • Daniel Mitchell, Director, Institute of Industrial Relations, UCLA

Recent IWER Graduates

Earlier Graduates

IWER has a long history of providing a world class PhD program.

  • 2009 John-Paul Ferguson, Associate Professor of Organizational Behavior, Desautels Faculty of Management, McGill University
  • 2008 Ruthanne Huising, Professor of Management and Organizations, emlyon Business School, and Director of its Work, Technology, and Organization Research Center
  • 2008 Kyoung-Hee Yu, Associate Professor, University of Technology, Sydney
  • 2008 Adam Seth Litwin, Associate Professor of Industrial and Labor Relations, ILR School, Cornell University
  • 2007 Fei Qin, Associate Professor, University of Bath and Co-Director of its Future of Work Research Centre
  • 2006 Natasha Iskander, Professor of Urban Planning and Public Service, Wagner Graduate School of Public Service, New York University
  • 2004 Sean Safford, Associate Professor, Sciences Po, Centre for the Sociology of Organizations
  • 2004 Matthew Bidwell, Associate Professor of Management, Wharton, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2004 Isabel Fernandez-Mateo, Professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship and Chair of the Strategy and Entrepreneurship Faculty, London Business School
  • 2003 Forrest Briscoe, Professor of Management and Organizations, Smeal College of Business, Penn State
  • 2002 Janice Fine, ProfessorLabor Studies and Employment Relations, Rutgers, School of Management and Labor Relations
  • 2002 Corinne Bendersky, Professor of Management and Organizations, UCLA Anderson School of Management
  • 2000 Susan Eaton (deceased), was Assistant Professor of Public Policy, Harvard University Kennedy School of Government
  • 1999 Lucio Bacarro, Director, Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies and Professor, University of Geneva
  • 1998 Philip Hirschsohn, Professor, School of Business and Finance, University of the Western Cape
  • 1998 Gil Preuss, CEO, Jewish Federation of Greater Washington
  • 1998 Brenda Lautsch, Associate Dean, Faculty and ProfessorManagement and Organization Studies, Beedie School of Business, Simon Fraser University
  • 1997 Ann Frost, Associate Professor, Organizational Behaviour, Ivey Business School, Western University
  • 1996 Saul Rubinstein, Professor, Labor Studies and Employment Relations, School of Management and Labor Relations, Rutgers University, Director of its Center for the Study of Collaboration in Work and Society, and Associate Dean for Research
  • 1996 Marc Weinstein, Clinical Professor of Management, Department of Global Leadership and Management, College of Business, Florida International University
  • 1995 Rosemary Batt, Alice Hanson Cook Professor of Women and Work, ILR School, Cornell University
  • 1995 Jody Hoffer Gittell, Professor of Management, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Brandeis University
  • 1994 Larry (Chip) Hunter, Dean, Washington State University’s Carson College of Business
  • 1989 John Paul MacDuffie, Professor of Management, Wharton School and Director of the Program on Vehicle and Mobility Innovation (PVMI) at Wharton’s Mack Institute for Innovation Management, University of Pennsylvania
  • 1988 Richard Locke, Provost, Brown University
  • 1988 John Chalykoff, former Dean, Jack Welch College of Business, Sacred Heart University
  • 1988 Joel Cutcher-Gershenfeld, Professor, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Brandeis University
  • 1985 Kirsten Wever, Consultant, KSW Associates
  • 1984 Maryellen R. Kelley, retired, former affiliations include being a member of the faculty of Carnegie Mellon University and a Senior Economist, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • 1984 Janice Klein, Senior Lecturer in Organizational Change, MIT Sloan
  • 1984 Anil Verma, Professor Emeritus of Industrial Relations and HR Management, Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto\
  • 1983 Casey Ichniowski (deceased), was Chair of the Management Division, Columbia Business School