Photos: MBA award winners 2016

Scholarships for academic leadership and community excellence recognized.

By Amy MacMillan Bankson  |  September 23, 2016

One scholarship recognizes the memory of a man who appreciated the financial support he received for his education. Another set of awards, established by alumni, is exclusive to MIT Sloan. And one more scholarship series recognizes more than 90 students at top schools worldwide with a $35,000 award.

The MIT Sloan MBA program office honored nine recipients of these awards—the McGowan Fellows Award, the McKinsey Awards, and the Siebel Scholars—September 21. These students were recognized at an MBA Town Hall lunch, one of two held every semester.

Samantha Fahrbach, MBA ’17, winner of the McGowan Fellows Award, with Maura Herson and Chanh Phan of the MBA program office. Nationwide, 10 McGowan Fellows receive a full-tuition scholarship during their second year in an MBA program. The scholarship program was created in the memory of William G. McGowan, founder of MCI Communications, who received a similar fellowship that allowed him to complete business school. Academic excellence, demonstrated leadership, and community engagement are all hallmarks of this award.

MIT Sloan Siebel Scholars, from left to right: Sebastian Cubela, Wendy Yuwen, Sarah Vick, Brendan McCook, and Alex Burns, all MBA ’17. This year, the Siebel Scholars program recognized 92 outstanding students at leading graduate schools of business, computer science, and bioengineering. Recipients, who are chosen based on outstanding academic achievement and leadership, are awarded $35,000 during their final year of study.

Simone Gammeri, MBA ’11, associate partner at McKinsey & Company, congratulated McKinsey award recipient Jannina Phi, MBA ’18, as Laurie McDonald, senior recruiter at McKinsey’s Boston office, looked on. Unique to MIT Sloan, the McKinsey Awards recognize first year MBA students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and distinctive leadership. The scholarship, which is $10,000, was founded by a group of alumni in 2002.

MBA Program Office Director Maura Herson, with McKinsey award winners Jannina Phi, Nehal Mehta, and Dan Stern, all MBA ’18, and Laurie McDonald and Simone Gammeri, MBA ’11, of McKinsey & Company.

Maura Herson (far left), with all of the scholarship winners.

First- and second-year MBA students celebrated together over a catered lunch.