Photos: MBA Annual Achievement Awards

Members of the MIT Sloan MBA class of 2016 were recognized for leadership, community, and teamwork

By Amy MacMillan Bankson  |  May 13, 2016

The 2016 MBA Annual Achievement Award winners were honored at a dinner with MIT Sloan dean David Schmittlein at the Samberg Conference Center on campus May 9. The winners of the Head Prize and the Patrick J. McGovern ’59 Entrepreneurship Award were also recognized. MBA Award recipients were celebrated at a May 4 lunch with Jake Cohen, senior associate dean, and Maura Herson, director of the MBA program office.

Seley Scholars Sarah Day Kalloch and David Sanchez, both MBA ’16, pose with David Schmittlein. The Seley Scholarship recognizes leadership, community contribution, and demonstrated academic achievement.

Erica Zendell, MBA ’16, is the Sherburne Award winner. The school gives this award in memory of administrator Miriam Sherburne, to a student who has worked to create and support a sense of community in the school.

The Martin Trust Community Fellowship recognizes excellence in members of the graduating class. Trust Fellows, from left to right: Allison Lowe, Alessandra Henderson, James Sherman, Natalie Pitcher, and Anita Wu, all MBA ’16.

A team award that recognizes excellence, the Henry DuPont Award was given to the MIT Sloan Black Business Students Association leadership team. Reegy Laloi (left) and Milton E. Jones Jr., and Valerie Russell, all MBA ’16, are flanked by Maura Herson and Jake Cohen.

The Henry Ford Team Award was presented to the leadership team of the MIT Sloan Sports Analytics Conference. From left to right: Katherine Barnard, MBA ’17, Laurence Lau, MBA ’16, Jessica Kim, MBA ’16, Chachu Wu, MBA ’16, Kyle S. Gerbe, MBA ’16, Jillian Mezzanotte, MBA ’16, Amanda R. Lurie, LGO ’16, Benjamin Bohr, MBA ’16, Jacquelyn Mohl, LGO ’16, Clint Marchese, MBA ’16, Amol Mepani, MBA ’16, and Matt Cardoso, MBA ’16. Missing from photo: Matthew Karlan, MBA ’16 and Michael Macmillan, LGO ’16.

Max Duffy and Chuan Zhang, both MBA ’16, each received the Petersen Award, which is given each year to students who have made significant contributions to the community.

The Head Prize, established by alumnus John C Head III, is given to the highest-achieving MBA student in finance at MIT Sloan, as determined by the finance faculty. This year, for the first time ever, two students were each awarded the prize. Pictured here are winners Henrik Wibe and Raphael Vives, both MBA ’16. At center is Man Su, a graduate student at the Harvard Graduate School of Design and Wibe’s girlfriend.

Winners of the Patrick J. McGovern ’59 Entrepreneurship Award, from left to right, Liz Voeller, Alessandra Henderson, and Natalie Pitcher, all MBA ’16. Missing from photo: Isaac Stoner, MBA ’16. This award is given to an individual or team that, in working closely with the Martin Trust Center for MIT Entrepreneurship, has a made a significant impact on the quality and overall spirit of entrepreneurship at the school.