The Cost of Bailouts

MIT GCFP and MIT DCI co-host talk by President of Deutsche Bundesbank

Presentation and Fireside Chat with Boston Fed President/CEO

MIT Golub Center for Finance and Policy

GCFP appoints Jan Eberly as Distinguished Senior Fellow

The MIT Golub Center for Finance and Policy is pleased to announce the appointment of Janice C. Eberly (Professor of Finance and recent Senior Associate Dean at the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University) as our Distinguished Senior Fellow for the 2023-2024 academic year. Dr. Eberly will teach a graduate-level class on financial policy at MIT Sloan in the spring and will contribute to the GCFP’s research and outreach agenda. 

“I have had the good fortune to work with Jan in a variety of capacities over the years. She is a superb colleague and insightful leader whose research has practical importance for policy decisions. We are fortunate to have her as the next Golub Senior Fellow,” added MIT Sloan Distinguished Professor of Finance Deborah Lucas, who is the director of the Golub Center.

Dr. Eberly noted, “I am looking forward to contributing to the mission of the GCFP and to joining the community of scholars and leaders at MIT Sloan.”

Dr. Eberly joins MIT Sloan’s faculty from leave at the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University. She served as Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy at the U.S. Treasury in 2011-2013 and was Chief Economist at the Treasury.

Professor Eberly's research focuses on finance and macroeconomics, addressing firms' capital budgeting and financing decisions and household spending and portfolios. Her work extends into investments and financing of education through student loans and family wealth accumulation in housing. More recently, she has examined the role of intangibles in capital accumulation and innovation, as well as market power and working-from-home. 

Professor Eberly received a Sloan Research Fellowship and was elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2013. She serves as co-editor of the Brookings Papers on Economic Activity and was Vice President of the American Economic Association. She received her Ph.D. in economics from MIT.

Dr. Eberly is the fourth recipient of this distinguished fellowship. The first recipient, Dr. Chester Spatt, held the position from 2017 to 2019; the second recipient, Dr. Laura Kodres, held the position from 2019 to 2020; and the third recipient, Dr. Ben Bernanke, held the position from 2020 to 2021.